Channel Lock
Sometimes it is necessary to temporarily lock a channel to prevent users from sending messages. Thanks to the lock command, this becomes a breeze!
๐ Lock a channelโ
Use the command: /lock [duration] [reason]
This command removes the permission to send messages from the @everyone role in the channel, preventing all users from posting. Replace [reason] to indicate why the channel is locked (e.g., chat cleanup, important announcement, etc.).
Temporary lockโ
The [duration] parameter lets you automatically unlock the channel after the specified duration (e.g. 15m, 1h, 2d). Useful for a quick cool-down without having to remember to unlock the channel manually.
๐ Unlock a channelโ
Use the command: /unlock [reason]
This command restores the send message permissions for the @everyone role in the channel to their state before the lock, allowing users to post again. Replace [reason] to indicate why the channel is unlocked (e.g., discussion reopened, announcement finished, etc.).
For the lock command to work correctly, you must ensure that no role has explicit permission to speak in that channel. Otherwise, members with those roles will still be able to chat.
The lock and unlock commands are usable via prefix.
โ๏ธ Lock icon configurationโ
By default, this feature is disabled. However, you can choose whether locked channels should be renamed with a lock emoji (๐) added before their name.
To enable/disable the lock icon before locked channel names:
- Use the
/settingscommand. - Click the "Lock icon on locked channels" button. This button works as a toggle; a single click is enough to enable or disable the option.